You are here:

What Is Medicare and Will I receive it?

In the simplest terms, Medicare is federal health insurance for seniors 65 years and older or younger people with certain disabilities. Learning about Medicare options can feel overwhelming. Many aren’t sure where to begin. Medicare offers several parts, plan options, and coverage stages, it can be difficult to know which method of receiving your benefits is the best for you. However, once you understand the basics of Medicare, choosing your coverage options will be much easier.

Let the experienced staff at The In Group answer your Medicare questions as well as assist you when choosing a Medicare Advantage Plan or Medicare Supplement Plan.

Below, we will go into a little more depth into the different parts of Medicare.

Who is eligible for Medicare?

The initial eligibility age for Medicare is 65. Some people can get Medicare earlier if they are disabled or have specific conditions, like end-stage renal disease (ESRD) that requires dialysis or Lou Gehrig’s disease (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis).


What are Medicare's Limitations?

Medicare does not cover all medical costs. There may be costs associated with medical care that you will be responsible for.

Medicare is also not a welfare program. To qualify for free Medicare Part A, you must have worked and paid Medicare taxes for at least 10 years to be eligible for benefits. However, you can still be eligible for Medicare Part A with less than 10 years of work history if you meet all other criteria, but you might have to pay a Part A premium. There are some exceptions, but this is the general rule.

Medicare Basics: What Are the Four Parts of Medicare?

Original Medicare = Parts A & B (Medicare Pays Most & You Pay Rest)

If you are already collecting Social Security, you will be automatically enrolled in Original Medicare and receive your Medicare card in the mail a few months before turning 65. If not, you can go online to and follow the directions to formally enroll in Medicare Parts A & B up to 3 months prior to your 65th birthday.